So no one told you life was gonna be this way *clap clap clap clap clap*

I was running late today.

  • yes, I work from home and
    • technically my workplace is two feet from my bed
  • but I woke up later than usual, and my breakfast was rushed
    • and I don’t know about you, but I’m one of those people that needs to have a proper breakfast or my day is ruined

Well – as a result, my day was ruined.

Actually, my breakfast wasn’t really rushed until … I spilt my tea everywhere.

That is not a metaphor. I did not metaphorically spill the tea. My tea literally spilt as I was taking the tea bag out.

Tea splashed EVERYWHERE.

And it’s one of those really tall mugs, so there was a lot of tea. The bench was covered, my pyjamas were soaked, there were puddles on the floor, tea was dripping down the cupboards and drawers. And, when I opened the drawers to clean them, I learnt there was tea inside too.

How.

Fun.

I groused and grumbled, still half-asleep, still hungry af, drenched in tea, and used at least fifty paper towels to clean up the mess. I lied before – it was not fun.

Well, I did it. Cleaned it all. Like the responsible adult I am. I wish I was also the kind that didn’t spill tea, but that’s beside the point.

I ate my breakfast – rushed and it was cold too! – and went on with my day.

But things just felt off.

The whole day was just a little off kilter. Nothing was going wrong with my work. It was a normal day, just like every other really. No dramas or anything. But something felt wrong. I couldn’t put my finger on it.

Then I realised – around lunch time, when I was making myself another cup of tea – it was because I spilt my first tea and had a terrible breakfast. My whole mood completely shifted because of that one thing. It really made me wonder.

How many days have been changed by just one small detail – a little thing that happened early in the morning? Does it matter the time of day said small detail happens? Are morning slip-ups more effective at ruining your day than afternoon ones?

I guess the obvious answer is yes – because there’s more day to ruin in the morning as opposed to later in the day. And so it can set the mood for the entire day. Yeah.

So at lunch time, when I was listening to the news and I heard some covid news that isn’t actually sad, in comparison to actual problems out there in the world, it actually made me really sad. Because I was off kilter, and a bit mopey already. And I stopped and looked at myself and said “why am I tearing up about this, is it even sad?” and it wasn’t really. My brain was just feeling sad.

I don’t really know what the point of this blog post is.

I just felt like writing it.

Hope your day wasn’t mopey. And I also hope you never spill your tea.

Especially in the morning.

2 thoughts on “So no one told you life was gonna be this way *clap clap clap clap clap*

  1. I once spilt a full cup of tea about an inch away from my laptop and was mentally screaming until I was certain no moisture had gotten anywhere near it. I did have it spill on the floor, on my desk, on my homework that I then had to print and fill out again…
    Life happens. Tomorrow will be better.
    Here’s to tea that never spills. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment