Reaching My Goodreads 2020 Goal

Setting my Goodreads goal for 2020, I decided on a much smaller number than usual. Mainly because I wanted to bring the fun back to reading, and stop stressing over a number that literally means nothing. I got enough stress in my life. Instead of 100, or even 50 books, I opted for a goal of reading 24 books this year. Two for each month.

I thought it’d be easy.

hahahaha haha ha ha

It’s no secret that 2020 sucks. And my anxiety has been at an all-time high this year. I’m sure I’m not the only one. As a result, there were months where I didn’t read a page.

And that’s okay.

there were days where I felt irritated that I wasn’t reading and not stressing over it took some getting used to but I think I’m good now

Well, the other day I completed my Goodreads goal of 24 books – HOORAY.

I thought I’d do a quick overview, separating them by star ratings, to see the quality of books I’m reading, as well as the quantity.

Rating: 1 out of 5.

NO BOOKS HOORAY!

Rating: 2 out of 5.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

If my calculations are correct (which I won’t be surprised if they’re not because I suck at maths), 37.5% of all the books I read were 3 star books.

That’s sad.

Not that 3 stars is bad, per se – it’s just kinda… meh. I want less ‘meh’ books and more ‘woah’ books.

Is that so much to ask?!

Overall, it’s been an okay reading year. Reading definitely hasn’t been my priority, so I’m glad I’ve at least read some stuff. And a lot of it was pretty fun, and also difficult and important.

How’s your reading going this year? Do you set a Goodreads goal? Recommend me a guaranteed 5 star book – I know, I know; it’s all subjective. But recommend me something you absolutely love. I basically read any genre, and I need help clearly.

That’s all I’ve got. Hope you’re all chilling. My state might be in a state of emergency until September 2021, so that’s fun news…

Stay safe, everyone!

Leave a comment